Simon Says

A little while ago, I reviewed The World’s Shortest Wine Book by Simon Woods. After I’d bought the book, I signed up for Simon’s Twenty-Five Lessons From Twenty-Five Years In Wine. This came by email in five instalments.

Here are a few of my favourites:

1: The company is more important than the wine [1]
I’d rather have an OK wine with a good friend than a great wine with a prat.

6: Louder does not mean better
There’s a school of wine appreciation that says that if ripe is good, then riper is better. Ditto for deep colour and deeper colour, oak and oakier, alcohol and alcohol-ier.

Don’t get sucked into this mentality. By similar reasoning, meals would be judged on the amount of calories they contained, the best films would be the longest ones with the most actors and Celine Dion would get better the higher you turned the volume.

Great wines should seduce you, and it’s not especially seductive to be bashed round the head by the grapey equivalent of a house-brick. Louder does not mean better.

11: Riedel’s Law [2]
…which simply says that the more expensive the wine glass, the easier it is to smash.

20: Don’t get hung up on wine and food matching
Just as with people, there are a few matches made in heaven and a few ne’er-the-twain-shall-meets. But in general, most things get on OK together.

If you’d like to read all 25 lessons, you can sign up here free.


  1. I added the title for this lesson.  ↩
  2. My favourite, though I’ve yet to suffer the pain of breaking one of my limited collection.  ↩

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.